top of page

Professional vs. New but Experienced

This statement may throw some off. It is an odd comparison and usually an easy choice.

However in my case I would not call my self a "professional event planner". I do not think I have enough events under my portfolio yet.


I do think I could be a professional with time. To do this though I am against established planners with many clients and partners...


So I started with family events. Planned surprise parties. My first wedding was a family friend, small backyard wedding. No pay. No credible experience. Nothing to say I planned it besides some friends saying, she has some talent for this.


I planned my own wedding too a T, and realized I needed to learn a lot still. Not saying my wedding was a mess, but some things could have been smoother. Then I was a day of coordinator for a friend's wedding. She had no complaints about me or my job. However her family did rush the reception. A learning experience.


I have shadowed a local wedding planner. Which turned into me being her assistant for the day. She said I was a lot of help. Also that I did more than she expected. That I knew more than she expected. She also told me the areas I needed to focus more on. More learning experience. This time with some pay, but no credible experience.

I would not be able to put any of these people down for as a reference if your looking for a paper trail of what I did as the planner.

I can only say what others have said. But again they are friends. I am sure if I did something wrong they would tell me.


So I may not be on paper a professional planner, but I would say I am experienced.


I know how to plan from scratch with just a theme, or color scheme.

I know how to look for vendors and to price compare to what your needs are.

I love details and organization.

I have started to digress.


If you are looking for someone who has worked many, many weddings or events. I may not be that person.


But if you are wanting an affordable, eager to be of any help for your event, experienced person. Then I would love to help. So would the photographer student trying to build their portfolio. The stay at home mom who loves to bake, and can make beautiful cakes.


Sometimes the New but Experienced can give you the most unique and amazing addition to your event!


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Yorumlar


bottom of page