top of page

Budgets & How to cut Costs! Pt. 1

So the question has been popped, you said yes! A date is picked! Then the daunting thought how to pay for it all. If only we lived in a fairytale where all weddings magically happen, no expense. Like I'm sure Cinderella could pay for her palace wedding..


So we budget, put aside money for specific purchases. Like the perfect dress instead of a 3 teir cake. We sometimes sacrifice something we really want over a not so important decoration or table cloths..


Here are a few ideas mixed in with personal experience that may help you get both. The purchase you really desire and the perfect day!!


When I was planning my wedding I of course went to Pintrest to look at ideas. I found MANY!! I also saw a bunch of fairytale movie set like venues. Then became discouraged because how could my wedding look like that with my little pocket change. Not to mention the area I live it. If your from south Louisiana you'll know the weather does not like to stick to plans.

So I decided to be different.


I worked with what I had. My friends and family are known for having a great time no matter what the venue and decorations look like. And I realized, I really only wanted to celebrate finding the love of my life and have a great time with my close friends and family. So we did.

Instead of a traditional wedding gown I went to Amazon. Found a prom dress that looked like my dream wedding dress.

If the words WEDDING are on or near the dress it will always cost more than the same dress in the formal section.

And there is nothing wrong with ordering a wedding dress from an online store. My only advice for that is to check the return policy. Most online stores will allow you to return it with in a few days. So try it on. Even if it's a little big you can get a local seamstress to alter it to be perfect!!


So after my dress was decided I tackled a venue. Which most named wedding venues do cost a very pretty penny. With reason. They supply a lot to help your day. If you want the extra help like an included catering service or DJ then that is a big help of its self. As with most things there are pros and cons to this.

A venue that provides the catering service may still charge per person/plate. Or have a already select menu. Of course if this is what you want then by all means, you do you.


We wanted a outdoor area with an indoor space for the reception. This was also tricky. Some venues do have the options for indoor and outdoor. While some have a layout already in place. With the isle and chairs already out. As well as a limit to decorative abilities. Some will alow you to decorate as you like and some have permanent decor that may not fit your colors.

So we looked for a non traditional venue. Thought about a park then our own yard. With a guest list of about 100 people that was not possible. So I looked at campgrounds. Some have a meeting room you can rent for the day as well as cabins.


Now choosing a non traditional venue has its own challenges. Most are not set up for a wedding. With this you'll need to think of where the ceremony and reception will be, where the isle and guests will sit for the ceremony. If you have a catering service can they set up or is there a space for a DJ. I did not have a catering service nor a DJ. The state park I found had an area behind a cabin that was perfect for a wedding. The inside of the cabin was perfect for dancing as well as having a full kitchen for cooking.


In short for a venue. Try the non traditional. Some may be perfect and affordable.


As for the catering and DJ issue. Alot of restaurants have a catering package you can browse. If your wanting a informal dinner, self serve buffet style that is a perfect idea. The restaurant will box up the food and you can send a friend to pick it up the day of the wedding. Some places to deliver their catering menu.

DJ's are amazing and can be a great party booster. But so can a great Playlist and some speakers.


Part 2 to follow soon.

x

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page